

ASSOCIATION OF VETERINARY ADVANCEMENT PROFESSIONALS 2024 ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING AGENDA

June 20, 2024- Austin, TX

- 1. Called to order by President, Niki Theobald at 1:06pm Central Time
- 2. Reviewed and approved 2023 annual meeting minutes- President, Niki Theobald
 - a. The notes were online all year, shared via AAVMC Connect and copies are on your tables.
 - b. Motion to approve- Rachel Knight, Texas A&M; Second by Monika Blackwell, The Ohio State University; motion approved.
- 3. Annual Report President, Niki Theobald

Read by Nikki as well as posted online: Niki thanked the 17 volunteers who worked on the Conference committee. Stated we will be sending out a document about new volunteer roles. She pointed out we did outreach to the new Veterinary schools inviting them to join AVAP and reinviting those who belonged in the past. We need volunteers for the 2025 DC Conference committee.

4. Treasurer's report - Treasurer, Karen Johnson

Printed copy on tables. No discussion. Karen asked if we should donate to the free platform we used for the conference registration; they run on ads and donations. Motion to approve Gail Burton, University of Florida; second by Laura Zimbrick, University of Tennessee; motion passed.

- 5. Election of officers President, Niki Theobald
 - a. Call for a motion to vote on new officers and executive committee members:
 - i. Current Officers for 2023-2024

President Niki Theobald, North Carolina State
 Vice President Tim King, The Ohio State University

3. Immediate Past President Bill Venne, University of Minnesota (retired)

4. Secretary Kay Glaser, Washington State University5. Treasurer Karen Johnson, University of Florida

6. Treasurer Elect left vacant

7. Member at large Heidi Kramer, University of Wisconsin

8. Member at large Julie Bogan, Purdue University

9. Conference Liaison Monika Blackwell, The Ohio State University

- b. Proposed slate of new officers for 2024-2025
 - i. President Tim King, The Ohio State University
 - ii. Vice President Heidi Kramer, University of Wisconsin
 - iii. Immediate Past President Niki Theobald, North Carolina State
 - iv. Secretary Kay Glaser, Washington State University
 - v. Treasurer Karen Johnson, University of Florida
 - vi. Treasurer Elect left vacant
 - vii. Member at Large Julie Bogan, Purdue University
 - viii. Member at Large Carly Zeiger, The Ohio State University
 - ix. Conference Liaison- Monika Blackwell, The Ohio State University
 - 1. Motion to approve- Katie Rothstein- Colorado State University; second, Sherry Buckles-Virginia-Maryland; motion passed.

- 5. Old Business- President, Niki Theobald-None to report.
- 6. New business President Elect, Tim King
 - a. Executive Committee restructuring- We are looking into adding an Outreach Committee and a Marketing & Communications Committee to our structure.
 - b. New Committee: Marketing & Communications-AVAP now has a new LinkedIn page for AVAP, coupled with an inadequate WordPress website, we need communications help. A communications committee can take over both. We will post the proposed changes when they are completed.
 - c. 2025 AVAP Ongoings
 - i. Conference- next year in Washington, DC July 16-18, 2025. The hotel, Embassy Suites, has been booked.
 - ii. Volunteer Committee- members are needed, you can scan the sheet on the tables to learn more or reach out to Monika Blackwell to help with the 2025 conference or Carly Zeiger for the Outreach committee.
 - iii. CVM Advancement Survey- We plan to create and launch a CVM Advancement Survey and create a place to store it on the AVAP site. The plan is to share information with each other without emails and AAVMC messages. AAVMC wants similar data, so we will reach out to them to see if they might pay for it.

7. Adjourn

a. Motion to approve- Monika Blackwell, The Ohio State University; second, Gail Burton, University of Florida; motion passed.